Curfew

City Ordinance #05-08-18-18 of the City of Corinth Texas establishes a curfew for minors under 17 years of age prohibiting appearance in public between the hours of 12 a.m. (midnight) and 6 a.m.

Definitions
Curfew Hours: Between the hours of 12 a.m. (midnight) and 6 a.m. on any day of the week.

Emergency: An unexpected situation or occurrence that demands immediate attention. Shall include incidents such as medical emergency, automobile accident, fire, natural disaster, or providing transportation to a medical care center for another person.

Guardian: Any person who is legally responsible for the person. The custody must be directed by a court order.

Minor: Any person under seventeen years of age.

Parent: A natural father or mother or adoptive parent of a person.

Public Place: Any place the public or a substantial amount of the public has access, and includes but not limited to streets, highways, apartments, parks, shops, stores, and common areas of schools.

Remain: To linger or stay unnecessarily upon a public place.

Offenses
It is a violation for any minor to remain, appear, or enter a public place within the curfew hours regardless if the minor is walking, running, standing, or driving.

It is a violation for any parent or guardian to knowingly allow a minor to be in violation of the curfew hours as set forth in the above section.

Defenses (Exceptions)
It is a defense to prosecute for any of the following circumstances:
  • The minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian
  • The minor is involved in an emergency situation as dictated by the above definition
  • The minor is accompanied by another adult approved by the parent
  • The minor is returning from a school or religious sponsored activity and is in the act of returning home from this event
  • The minor is engaging in employment duties or is returning home from lawful employment
  • The minor is in a motor vehicle involved in interstate travel
  • The minor is married or had been married or had disabilities of minority removed in accordance with Chapter 31 of the Texas Family Code
Penalty
A person who violates a provision of this chapter is guilty of a separate offense for each day or part of a day during which the violation is committed, continued, or permitted. Each offense, upon conviction, is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. 

When required by Section 51.08 of the Texas Family Code, as amended, the municipal court shall waive original jurisdiction over a minor who violates subsection (b)(1) of Section 51.08 of the Texas Family Code and shall refer the minor to juvenile court.